fear

Last year around this time I was really struggling with fear and anxiety! Re-reading some of my journal posts I thought to myself, dang girl, what was wrong with you??? haha. Except that it was so real then. I was living in fear of so much!

Today I was reading Psalm 27 aloud to my little ZJ.  She was quite pleased I included her in my quiet time, so I need to start doing this more regularly.  I’m not sure why I haven’t before now!

I wish I had read this daily during my struggles last year…

The Lord is my light and my salvation;
Whom shall I fear?
The Lord is the defense of my life;
Whom shall I dread?
….
Thought a host encamp against me,
My heart will not fear;
Though war arise against me,
In spite of this I shall be confident. (vs. 1-3)

Then he goes on to talk about how he offers sacrifices with “shouts of JOY” because of the Lord’s deliverance.

You have been my help. (vs. 9)

If he’s offering shouts of joy after the Lord’s deliverance, what would be the opposite? despair?

I would’ve despaired unless I had believed that I would see the goodness of the Lord in the land of the living. (vs 13)

When we’re not joyful we’re often despairing. As the queen of dramatic emotions, Anne Shirley, famously said, “I’m in the depths of despair!”  But instead of this guy despairing, he was shouting with joy! I’m gonna try that next time I’m falling down the slippery slope into despair.  It’ll probably scare the heck out of Mozzie and ZJ, but it may work for me!

Hope you have a good rest of the week! Choose joy!

IMG_6466.JPG

~e

Leave a comment