new year: healthier lifestyle

So who doesn’t want to be healthier with the new year rolling over? I mean, obviously, the packed gym today was evidence of the resolutions. Every single treadmill in the gym on base was filled tonight when we drove by haha. Every time I’ve ever been in there (not often) I’ve only seen MAYYYYBE 3 people running at one time.


FOR THEY ARE LIFE TO THOSE WHO FIND THEM

AND HEALTH TO ALL THEIR BODY.

WATCH OVER YOUR HEART WITH ALL DILIGENCE,

FOR FROM IT FLOW THE SPRINGS OF LIFE. (proverbs 4.22&23)

In context, these verses are referring to the words of Wisdom.  As I read through this chapter [I accidentally read chapter 4 because I was thinking tomorrow was the 5th ha! but I’m glad I made that mistake!], I realized that all of us pursuing a healthier lifestyle could stand to start here.

I think the problem that social media has created with people today is that it’s easy to spread opinions instead of facts.  Facebook is a prime example of that. If someone sees an article or meme or quote they like, they repost it, regardless of the truth or accuracy of it. I’m sure other social media sites do the same, but Facebook seems to be the most prevalent and relevant to “my people.”

But this passage is saying health to all our bodies is from listening to wisdom. so… that must mean, NOT listening to what isn’t wisdom, right? Here’s some more of the chapter:

MY SON, GIVE ATTENTION TO MY [wisdom is speakingWORDS;
INCLINE YOUR EAR TO MY SAYINGS.
DO NOT LET THEM DEPART FROM YOUR SIGHT;
KEEP THEM IN THE MIDST OF YOUR HEART.
FOR THEY ARE LIFE TO THOSE WHO FIND THEM
AND HEALTH TO ALL THEIR BODY.
WATCH OVER YOUR HEART WITH ALL DILIGENCE,
FOR FROM IT FLOW THE SPRINGS OF LIFE.
PUT AWAY FROM YOU A DECEITFUL MOUTH
AND PUT DEVIOUS SPEECH FAR FROM YOU.
LET YOUR EYES LOOK DIRECTLY AHEAD
AND LET YOUR GAZE BE FIXED STRAIGHT IN FRONT OF YOU.
WATCH THE PATH OF YOUR FEET
AND ALL YOUR WAYS WILL BE ESTABLISHED.
DO NOT TURN TO THE RIGHT NOR TO THE LEFT;
TURN YOUR FOOT FROM EVIL.

MY SON, GIVE ATTENTION TO MY WISDOM,
INCLINE YOUR EAR TO MY UNDERSTANDING;
THAT YOU MAY OBSERVE DISCRETION
AND YOUR LIPS MAY RESERVE KNOWLEDGE.
FOR THE LIPS OF AN ADULTERESS DRIP HONEY
AND SMOOTHER THAN OIL IS HER SPEECH;
BUT IN THE END SHE IS BITTER AS WORMWOOD,
SHARP AS A TWO-EDGED SWORD.
HER FEET GO DOWN TO DEATH,
HER STEPS TAKE HOLD OF SHEOL.
SHE DOES NOT PONDER THE PATH OF LIFE;
HER WAYS ARE UNSTABLE, SHE DOES NOT KNOW IT.

NOW THEN, MY SONS, LISTEN TO ME
AND DO NOT DEPART FROM THE WORDS OF MY MOUTH.
KEEP YOUR WAY FAR FROM HER
AND DO NOT GO NEAR THE DOOR OF HER HOUSE,
OR YOU WILL GIVE YOUR VIGOR TO OTHERS
AND YOUR YEARS TO THE CRUEL ONE;
AND STRANGERS WILL BE FILLED WITH YOUR STRENGTH
AND YOUR HARD-EARNED GOODS WILL GO TO THE HOUSE OF AN ALIEN;
AND YOU GROAN AT YOUR FINAL END,
WHEN YOUR FLESH AND YOUR BDOY ARE CONSUMED;
AND YOU SAY, “HOW I HAVE HATED INSTRUCTION!
AND MY HEART SPURNED REPROOF!
“I HAVE NOT LISTENED TO THE VOICE OF MY TEACHERS,
NOR INCLINED MY EAR TO MY INSTRUCTORS!
I WAS ALMOST IN UTTER RUIN
IN THE MIDST OF THE ASSEMBLY AND CONGREGATION!” (proverbs 4.20-5.14)

So, correct me if I’m wrong, but it sounds like if you give in to the adulterous woman (which is taking the opposite place of wisdom), you’ll not be healthy. You won’t have health in all your body, but, in fact, you’ll just begin feeling worse and worse until you eventually die. Another translation says, “But it won’t be long before she’s gravel in your mouth,  a pain in your gut, a wound in your heart… You don’t want to squander your wonderful life, to waste your precious life among the hardhearted.  Why should you allow strangers to take advantage of you?  Why be exploited by those who care nothing for you?  You don’t want to end your life full of regrets, nothing but sin and bones saying.. “My life is ruined!  I haven’t one blessed thing to show for my life!” {https://www.biblegateway.com/passage/?search=Proverbs+5%3A1-14&version=MSG}

The first step to healthy living is filling your life with healthy thoughts and healthy thoughts come from pursuing wisdom.  Don’t just pursue a healthier looking body, but pursue a healthy mind, a healthy body.  The holistically healthy lifestyle that you should seek for will begin in the word of God.

Join with me in putting behind us the unhealthy habits of our past. I want to make a point to get in the word not just weekly, but d a i l y.  I want to make a point of focusing on the words of the Lord, and biblical teaching, and christian influences, wise friends, instead of focusing on the o p i n i o n s of others.

I want to make a point to not dwell on social media as much as before.  My husband and I have decided to completely devote at least few hours of each day to focus on only each other and our kids. A few years ago this wouldn’t have been such a problem, but for some reason it’s ridiculously hard to put down our phones these days. It’s not even like we’re talking to important people! For the month of january we’re starting out small instead of making an unreachable goal, but ultimately, we want to spend more time with our ZZs and less time with phones.  Tuesdays and Thursdays this week will be “unplugged.”  If someone needs me, they can call my house phone, or just wait till after my daughter goes to bed.  It won’t be easy, unfortunately, but it’ll be totally worth it when the habit is created. Join with me if you like, or encourage me to stay on track!

Here’s to a healthier lifestyle!
Here’s to a healthier me!
Here’s to a joy-filled year!
Here’s to exuding happiness to my family!

➳ e // 1.5.16

Leave a Reply

