Social Media Confession

First off, I would like to say this is a confession about me – not anyone else, I’m not pointing fingers, and I’m not criticizing anyone else – I am merely talking about something I realized about me.

Last night, in the middle of the night, I had a revelation.  I realized how social media controls me.  I wake up early every single day and to help myself wake up I check for notifications on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter.  I reply to any that require replies, and I scroll through all the pictures that were posted after 11 pm.  But what dawned on me in the middle of the night is that it’s turned me into a selfish person!  I was taking pride in the fact that people notice me.  Whenever I write a post, it’s so someone else will notice it.  I post pictures, because I want people to like them.  I tweet things because I want people to notice them and care about what I’ve said.  I smiled when I saw that 40 people had liked my photo – but then I realized that most of them were only friends of friends.

I used to go on phone fasts, and recently I deleted all social media apps from my phone so that I wouldn’t spend so much time on them.  But it didn’t fix me. I need to do it again, so that I can truly learn to control my thoughts, and become less proud.  Recently I posted a picture of myself and two other friends and Facebook automatically posted it to their timelines, and one of the girls quickly removed it from her timeline so she didn’t have to see it, nor any of her friends.  Sadly, this is what it took to get me to realize that some people just use Facebook to promote themselves, but only with the qualities they want other people to see.  I obviously do the same.  My friend didn’t want her friends to know that we had been so close.  Getting more than 11 likes on my Instagram pictures makes me happy.  But what was the point in posting it in the first place – is it not to merely share it with my friends? Why does it have to be liked by 50 people to make it a better post?

I think social media has made our generation selfish, even more hedonistic than we were, and quite self-centered.  We need to rethink our reasons for every word we post/tweet/text/say.  Jesus said, “every careless word that people speak, they shall give an accounting for it in the day of judgement.” (Matthew 12:36).

And as I stated in the first paragraph, this post is directed to myself!

Leave a Reply

