I wanna be a preacher like the blind man

So in John chapter 9 Jesus heals a man born blind. I love this chapter!

Jesus puts dirt on his eyes and tells him to go wash. The guy obeys an ODD order and when he gets cleaned up he can see. All the people who recognized him had trouble believing if it was he or not. But he was like, Uh Yeah! Hello! It IS me. . . I would know!

So he was taken to the Religious Leaders (oooo). They asked him who healed him and he said his name was Jesus. And told them the story. They asked where Jesus was, and he didn’t know.
The Pharisees said, “This guy can’t be God, because He breaks the Sabbath.” And the healed man said, “He is a prophet.”

So they still didn’t believe that he was blind but now saw, so they called his parents, even though this guy was an adult. The parents were afraid of the people (AFRAID OF THE PEOPLE) and when asked who healed their son they said, “uh, uh, ask HIM! He’s a big boy!” So he was asked again and they said to him, “Give glory to God because this man is a sinner.” I LOVE his response (my sarcastic self loves it):

“Whether He is a sinner, I do not know; one thing I do know, that thought I was blind, now I see.”

😀 Yes! Bang.

And then, it just gets better.

They ask him how he was healed and his response is, I already told you!! Why are you asking again?? OH wait! It’s cuz you want to become His disciples too!!!

They mock and say, “YOU are His disciple, but WE are disciples of Moses. We know that God has spoken to Moses, but a for this man, we do not know where He is from.”

“Well, here is an amazing thing, that you do not know where He is from, and yet He opened my eyes. We know that God does not hear sinners; but if anyone is God-fearing and does His will, He hears him. Since the beginning of time it has never been heard that anyone opened the eyes of a person born blind. If this man were not from God, He could do nothing.”

:gasp:

Those humiliated Religious Leaders only answer was,
“You were born entirely in sins, and are you teaching us?????”

So,

they put him out. (excommunicated him. banned him from the temple)

AHHH i love this.
I wanna be bold like him.
I want to testify what Christ has done for me, even when it costs me my worldly “religious” reputation. Even when my parents won’t stand up with me. Even when I am shut down by what the secular and religious world views as the authorities.

~eli

2 thoughts on “I wanna be a preacher like the blind man

Leave a Reply

