Praise God! :D

Today I was shadowing an awesome nurse in an orthopedic doctor’s office. It was so much fun, even though I didn’t get to participate in the Disaster Drill that some of the rest of the class did at the Hospital.

At the beginning of the semester, I begged out of any OR (Operating Room) rotations because of the chance of passing out… which I was tired of getting sent home for. I still had to attend the OR orientation however, and of course was made fun of in there by my fellow loving students (one in particular). But during orientation, the charge nurse (i think she was the charge nurse) told us that the students would not be able to watch Total Knee Replacements because of how extensive they were. She was rather emphatic about it. I was like, soooo, no danger of me seeing them! 😛

Today Mark (the nurse) informed me that we were going to head over the hospital across the street to help the Doctor with two surgeries after we finished in the clinic. I was a little worried, but we were so busy that I didn’t have a chance to say anything about it. On our walk over to the hospital, Mark told me that I would get to watch a Total Knee. I gulped, “okay!”

As they were finishing up with the surgery he leaned over to me and said, “Now remember that most people won’t get to watch this. The students aren’t allowed in to Total Knees. You only got to watch this because you were following me today.” I just looked at him and nodded.

Tomorrow i’m going to tell him that I have a bad habit of passing out at awkward times…

I give all the glory to God for getting me through the surgery without passing out.  He is the one who was causing me to faint before and He held my blood pressure level in His hand.  Today He did not want it to drop and therefore, He caused me to be able to stand for longer than 27 minutes* & watch and not be affected in the least (and to enjoy it!!).  

(*27 minutes was how long my positive Tilt Table Test lasted before I fainted.)

~Elizabeth Busshaus, S.V.N.!! 

 

Related Posts that were Posted Earlier…. 

“Attempt to Explain”

Leave a Reply

