Why is it so hard to missionaries in daily living when it’s so easy to be missionaries during a mission trip?

I never could understand this! I’ve been on a few mission trips outside the U.S. and I’ve done a few in the U.S. since high school, and to me, they were the best weeks of my life. My teammates and I constantly dwelt on Christ, weren’t ashamed of telling (almost!) anyone about Him. It wasn’t hard. We didn’t even have to think about it. That was our focus. That was our purpose for being there. Yet now, it’s been quite a while since my last “trip” and I don’t like how hard it is to be a missionary. There are just as many unsaved people in my life now (in fact, possibly more) than there were on my last missionary endeavor, but how many times have I sought to bring the gospel to them?

 

This is a group picture with a whole bunch of people during our mission trip to Dominican Republic where we did a medical mission trip out in a village

This is a group picture with a whole bunch of people during our mission trip to Dominican Republic where we did a medical mission trip out in a village

 

 

 

This is one of my top 5 favorite pictures from the DR mission trip.

This is one of my top 5 favorite pictures from the DR mission trip.

 

Me holding a baby in the DR during a church service in a Haitian village.

Me holding a baby in the DR during a church service in a Haitian village.

 

 

I was in the word a lot more and spent many more hours praying and asking God to change the lives of the young people I was ministering to when I was “out there.” Now, I can go days without realizing that I need to be praying the same for the people I see every day. What is the difference in the people I see daily and the people I saw daily last summer? How come I can get home and find that I haven’t said the name of my God once to anyone that day?
Why is it so hard to live the Christian life in daily living than it is to be a missionary on a short-term mission trip (or a long-term, I suppose, never having been on one)?

 

This was on one of those freeeeeezing days in Mexico on our medical mission trip down there at Christmas time.  We're all taking a break & drinking scalding hot cocoa outside the kitchen area.

This was on one of those freeeeeezing days in Mexico on our medical mission trip down there at Christmas time. We're all taking a break & drinking scalding hot cocoa outside the kitchen area.

 

This is a picture of me with one of my cabins at His Hill.  If I remember correctly, this was my hyper cabin that graciously gave me opportunities to expend much energy.

This is a picture of me with one of my cabins at His Hill. If I remember correctly, this was my hyper cabin that graciously gave me opportunities to expend much energy.

 

 

I feel the need to be revitalized by going on a mission trip and remembering how it was to walk, talk, share, pray, and live “the Christian life” yet, more so, I want to know how to do it here, now, at school, at work, at home, at church, in this ungodly world!!!

Elizabeth Busshaus

Leave a Reply

